Faculty Advising Hours

Faculty advising is a critical part of your educational program at San Francisco State University.  Your progress toward your selected degree, minor, certificate, or credential program will be significantly smoother with regular advising. All students are encouraged to meet with an academic advisor every semester. A number of advising opportunities are available to students that include orientation each semester, group advising meetings, and individual meetings by appointment.

  • Navigate by scrolling down to your program emphasis area or area of interest

>> Spring 2018 semester begins instruction on Monday, January 22, 2018 <<

Early Childhood Special Education

Faculty Advisor Email Phone
Area Code (415)
Advising Hours
Amber Friesen
Burk Hall 201
 
afriesen@sfsu.edu 338-7654 On leave, Spring 2018
Summer Hsia
Burk Hall 148
Schedule an appointment
 
summerh@sfsu.edu 338-2502 M 1-4 p.m. | Th 1-2 p.m.
Maryssa Kucskar
Burk Hall 204
 
mkucskar@sfsu.edu 338-3430 T 10:30 a.m. -12:30 p.m. | W 1:30 -3:30 p.m.
Marci Hanson
Burk Hall 275
 
mjhanson@sfsu.edu 338-6353 By appointment only.

Mild Moderate Disabilities

Faculty Advisor Email Phone
Area Code (415)
Advising Hours

Janelle Lawson
Burk Hall 205
Schedule an appointment

 

jelawson@sfsu.edu 405-3428

M 1-3 p.m. | W 11-1 p.m.

 

Philip Prinz
Burk Hall 147
 

pm@sfsu.edu 338-7655 Th 1:30-3:30 p.m.
By appointment only.
Mary Requa
Burk Hall 202
 
mrequa@sfsu.edu 338-3428 M 1-4 p.m. | Th 12-1:00 p.m.
& by appointment

Pamela Wolfberg
Burk Hall 273
Schedule an appointment

wolfberg@sfsu.edu 338-7651 M 1-4 p.m. | T 2:30-3:30 p.m.
By appointment only

Moderate Severe Disabilities

Faculty Advisor Email Phone
Area Code (415)
Advising Hours
Pam Hunt
Burk Hall 163
 
hunt@sfsu.edu 338-7848 M 2-6 p.m.
By appointment only
 
Kathleen Mortier
Burk Hall 163
 
kmortier@sfsu.edu 338-7847
M & W 1:30-3:30 p.m.
By appointment only
 

Orientation & Mobility

Faculty Advisor Email Phone
Area Code (415)
Advising Hours
Sandra Rosen
Burk Hall 150
srosen@sfsu.edu 338-1245

By appointment only, via Zoom.

 

Visual Impairments

Faculty Advisor Email Phone
Area Code (415)
Advising Hours
Yue-Ting Siu
Burk Hall 166
 
ysiu@sfsu.edu 338-1080 T 4-6 p.m., Zoom (by appointment only)
W 1-3 p.m., Zoom (by appointment only)

Minor in Special Education

Faculty Advisor Email Phone
Area Code (415)
Advising Hours

Maryssa Kucskar
Burk Hall 204
 

mkucskar@sfsu.edu 338-3430 T 10:30 a.m. -12:30 p.m. | W 1:30 -3:30 p.m.
Summer Hsia
Burk Hall 148
Schedule an appointment

 

summerh@sfsu.edu 338-2502 M 1-4 p.m. | Th 1-2 p.m.

Amber Friesen
Burk Hall 201

 

afriesen@sfsu.edu 338-7654 On leave, Spring 2018

Intern Program - Principal Investigator

Faculty Advisor Email Phone
Area Code (415)
Advising Hours
Summer Hsia
Burk Hall 148
summerh@sfsu.edu 338-1161 By appointment only. Please email.

Joint Doctoral Program (SF State & UCB)

Faculty Advisor Email Phone
Area Code (415)
Advising Hours
Gloria Soto
Burk Hall 271
gsoto@sfsu.edu 338-1757 By appointment only. Please email.

Autism Spectrum Certificate

Faculty Advisor Email Phone
Area Code (415)
Advising Hours
Pamela Wolfberg
Burk Hall 273
Schedule an appointment
 
wolfberg@sfsu.edu 338-7651

M 1-4 p.m. | T 2:30-3:30 p.m.
By appointment only